Bring some focus to what kids naturally like to do and sign them up for season eight of FasKidz, the Y’s ever popular youth running program for kids ages 8-12. Your child will learn training basics, form, physiology, etiquette, racing strategies and more! Led by Y staff and volunteers with a century of running and racing experience, the program culminates with the Memorial Mile on Memorial Day.

FasKidz 2017 begins Monday, April 17. Practices run from 4:45 to 5:45 pm Mondays and Thursdays at various locations. The first week we meet at the gravel parking lot across from the Mill Creek Park Golf Course Clubhouse and run on the Hike & Bike Trail. Be prepared to run a one-mile time trial!

Download our App (YMCA of Youngstown) to stay connected and receive Notifications.
Google Play

Parent Letter

Click HERE to read the Parent Letter from Coach Tom

Training Schedule
Date
Monday, April 17
Thursday, April 20
Monday, April 24
Thursday, April 27
Monday, May 1
Thursday, May 4
Monday, May 8
Thursday, May 11
Monday, May 15
Thursday, May 18
Monday, May 22
Thursday, May 25
Memorial Day
Location*
Hike/Bike trail
Hike/Bike trail
Hike/Bike trail
Hike/Bike trail
Metroparks Bike trail
Metroparks Bike trail
BHS XC Course
BHS XC Course
Wick Recreation Area
Wick Recreation Area
Boardman HS Track (tentative)
Boardman HS Track (tentative)
Memorial Mile!
Training Type
base
time trial
base
base
base
base
hills
hills
strength building
strength building
speed
speed
race time!

All practices will begin at 4:45 pm and wrap up around 5:45 pm.

*Click HERE for a description of the LOCATIONS.

Memorial Mile Registration

Memorial Mile Registration forms are to be completed and turned in to Coach Tom.
Click HERE to download the Memorial Mile REGISTRATION FORM

Results

Click HERE for the Results for the 2016 Memorial Mile
Our FasKidz Team was outstanding! Many even brought home hardware (aka trophies for you non-runners)!

Contact

Tom Grantonic, FasKidz Head Coach, at 330.480.5650 or tgrantonic@youngstownymca.org


Comments are closed.